Showing posts with label tangled yoke cardigan. Show all posts
Showing posts with label tangled yoke cardigan. Show all posts

Monday, October 29, 2007

I Screwed Up

I was knitting merrily away at my Tangled Yoke Cardigan... I had conquered the sleeves and figured out how to make the yoke and was so thrilled at the prospect of finally being able to knit something that wasn't stockinette or garter rib. At last! My reward for all my hard work!

Well, first I had to knit another 3 inches of stockinette. Another 3 inches with 270+ stitches in each row. Fine. Then I had to decrease for the rows. Fine. AT LONG LAST THE CHART!!!

And I screwed up the first row.

Now, this wouldn't have been a problem if I had noticed it then. But did I? Did I?!

Of course not. I knit another 7 rows before I realized my error.

So now there is ripping to be done.

Argh.

Wednesday, October 3, 2007

Focus

I've been fairly monogamous lately...


I've gotten a lot of progress on my aunt's Tangled Yoke Cardigan. As odd as it sounds, stockinette is fairly addicting to me. *crickets chirp* Yes. I know. Strange, odd... but I just really like it for whatever God-forsaken reason. I'm nearly done with the body (about 13 rows to go!) and then I'll cast on for the sleeves.

There has been some other knitting going on these last few days...


I actually finished this a while ago. I'm very pleased with it, though I'm a bit surprised by all the Koigu I'm going to have left over.

Amy came for a visit a little over a week ago, and we sat and knit together. It was a good old time. We also hit up a ton of yarn stores and Amy bought a ton of yarn. Me? Not so much, but that's a good thing, considering how much yarn I've already got.

Oh! And my Juniper Zephyr Silk/Wool came in! I'm going to go pick it up tomorrow, and hopefully, I can finally finish the epic project that has been my Print o' the Wave.

Friday, August 31, 2007

Ahoy!

Well, it's been a REALLY long time since I last posted, but I finally can because... I HAVE A CAMERA CABLE!!! Gasp! But it's not mine, so yeah. Hahah. Anyway, here's the knitty things that have been going on since I last blogged.

Firstly, I finished Trellis...


Well, as finished as it gets without adding buttons. But it's blocked and seamed and obviously cute. :) Here are the specs.

Lilac Trellis
pattern: Trellis from knitty.com
yarn: Lorna's Laces Shepherd Worsted in Lilac
needles: 4.50 mm (US 7)

The yarn is a dream to work with. So soft and smooth! It's also subtlely colored which looks so nice in the cables. I left it for my mother to give to her friend's daughter's daughter so unfortunately, I myself cannot present it. But no matter.

I put my Grandma's mitered squares on hold... yeah. I nearly finished knitting all the squares, but there's a ton of seaming left... Mreh. I feel kinda sick just thinking about the squares, so let's move on.

Socks! I decided to knit a pair of socks for my sister. She picked the yarn.


Okay, so it looks red, but it's supposed to be orange. Giants rally socks! However, I think the Giants need more than socks to revive their season... -_-

My aunt informed me that on the 16th of this month, my cousin will be having a surprise baby shower. This, too, was a surprise to me. So I ran to Downtown Yarns and picked up some Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino (only the best for my cousin's baby!) for a cabled sweater.


(In case you weren't sure, my cousin is expecting a boy.)

And finally, I've started on the Christmas knitting. I decided to knit for my aunt - who's been like a second mother to me - the Tangled Yoke Cardigan from IK Fall '07. I'm using Felted Tweed in wheat. The yarn is lovely and the pattern is beautiful. I just hope the 34" will fit her...


And I picked up a small treat for myself too.


Malabrigo Lace. Don't try to tell me I don't deserve it.

It'll be a Swallowtail Shawl. Can't wait.

The Print o' the Wave is temporarily on hiatus until I get more yarn. That's right. I ran out again. Sigh. So I'm going to rip out the entire border and make the shawl a little longer. I was feeling it was too short anyway.